top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureDylan Hebior

WordPress Review:

Updated: May 4, 2022

The last time that I had the opportunity to work with word press I was in high school, so this assignment was very exciting to me. Overall, I really enjoy using WordPress because of how simple it is to create a site that should be simple to make especially when it comes to writing in blog form.

For example, the site that I created was a blog centered around my top 3 most interesting places in the world. I was inspired by the countless amount of top 10 blogs that I have read in the past simply because I like seeing what is out there and what other people are thinking. In general, these types of blogs are extremely easy to make; you need a title, text to support the title, picture to support the title, and your list which contains a title, picture, and text to support your opinion. I was able to complete my blog post and the simple design due to the fact that WordPress makes it extremely easy to do so.

I also found that WordPress is extremely useful for people who must get their work out fast and efficiently. I was able to complete my site in less than 45 minutes and that was with not having used WordPress in over 5 years. I think that is extremely important when it comes to working in any field because simplicity and speed are in most cases extremely valuable and it also helps leave room to focus on the actual content that is being posted to the site that is being created.

Although I really enjoyed using WordPress I did find one area that I did not enjoy. I really became frustrated when it came to the design aspect of the site and how it almost seemed that there was a set template that I could not break which did not allow me to be as creative as I would like to be. Now, if I had to guess I guarantee that there is a way to avoid this, but for the purpose of this project, I did not enjoy having to deal with that.

Lastly, I think that WordPress offers a unique way to go about our overall project this semester. I think that I would be able to use it as a way of making my project more personable and easy to understand. Although I do understand that digital humanities work is extremely in-depth, I think that this could be used to almost summarize work/ give an overview of sections I will have in my project. This would make my work flow better and help the reader know exactly where to look for certain information.



1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Mobrise Review:

Out of all of the software that we have been experimenting with this semester I believe that Mobrise is truly my favorite. Being a person who simply does not fully understand writing code or using any

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page